MIXED POST

This post is about different things hence title! I could have made a new post for each item, but hey life is too short for that malarkey in my view, so here you go a mixed post.

Yesterday I was searching for a piece of fabric I needed for  some little 4″ squares for a quilt I have started to make, searched high and low and managed to find the perfect one. I had about 3/4yd, they said I need 1 yard but as I am making it slightly smaller I hope to get away with this amount I have. So, I get it out flat and measure the 4″ and run the rotary cutter up the edge, grr blunt, try again, no no good put new blade in Janet. So did that, pick the fabric up, now see where I went wrong can you?? Folded it straight and cut the strips 4″ then across 4″. ARGHHHHHHH, look what happened, OK it is only three squares but as I am already down on the fabric required I am really hoping I shall be alright.

oops  The quilt is going to take me some time to do so you will have to wait and see if I get away with it.

NEXT….Do you ever join your wadding? I am such an old scrooge you know, I do, any reasonable size piece gets the ‘join up’ treatment from me, then I use these for small items I do, NOT a Quilt I have to say… It is strong enough and quite honestly too expensive to be throwing away. These pieces will be used for some more Graffiti pieces I am going to do very soon

wadding-joining

These fabrics have been pressed and pinned up ready for my Graffiti quilting.

graffiti-3-4graffiti-1-2

So with one thing and another I am going to be busy busy busy. I love Quilting.

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in FUN. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to MIXED POST

  1. Beautiful blue fabric. I would go ahead and use it. I’m sure you can make it work. I tend to be too lazy to join my batting, but have done so. Although I’m a great one for using every little scrap of batting. Heck, even the small little scraps work as great dust cloths.

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  2. Kimberly Jones says:

    I even join wadding for Quilts. Not often and only if it’s good quality wadding. I either zigzag it or use a strip of stabilizer. That stuff is way too expensive to waste.

  3. Kimberly Jones says:

    I also use stabilizer on fabric where I’ve miss cut like that. With the 1/4 inch seam it’s well away from the weaker spot. On my last quilt, yes, THAT ONE, I pieced fabric for 2.5 inch squares to use in hst’s like a lunatic towards the end.

  4. searchfamilies says:

    I think we all should start to join the wadding what stitch do you use i got some stuff to use but didn’t like that so not done much joining but will when i use a non polyester waddding i am using what i have which is what i originally got for table runners but not one of my better ideas lol
    Hugs Janice

    • Hi Janice, I put ,y zigzag stitch on the widest and the longest it will go and butt the straight wadding edges up and just merrily zigzag to the end, dont pull or push it, it finds its own rhythm to go through machine

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

