HELLO MUM

My younger daughter Annette and her fiance Clint did something great for me today. They went to Hambleden, near Henley-on-Thames and put some flowers on my mum’s grave. I know I won’t ever be able to get there again myself, the way the cemetery is situated makes it impossible for me to get in there. Clint also went backwards and forwards to the tap and cleaned the Headstone off as it was a bit grubby with bird muck etc. Big thank you for that Clint.

They then went to the house mum used to live in and asked permission to take some photo’s the chap was very nice apparently and said she could. Thank you both so much for these, they are great, brought back loads of memories for me I can tell you.

Beautiful Lych Gate leading to Cemetery, amazing carving done on this explaining why it was here and who paid for it --- the villagers

Beautiful Lych Gate leading to Cemetery, amazing carving done on this explaining why it was here and who paid for it — the villagers

Mum's Headstone

Mum’s Headstone

Church entrance I think

Church entrance 

Hambleden Church, beautiful inside

Hambleden Church, beautiful inside

Village Obelisk outside Church

Village War Memorial Obelisk outside Church

Church in distance as seen from the brook opposite mum's house

Church in distance as seen from the brook opposite mum’s house

Hambleden sign which is right before mum's old house

Hambleden sign which is right before mum’s old house

Mum's house, whatever has happened to the front lawn???

Mum’s old house, whatever has happened to the front lawn??? That garage is now huge….

Mum's house taken from across the road near the brook where the girls used to play pooh sticks

Mum’s old house taken from across the road near the brook where the girls used to play pooh sticks

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in Hambleden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HELLO MUM

  1. Tess wallace says:

    Wonderful photos Jan, thank heavens for memories….and daughters … xx

  2. What a great collection of photo memories. It looks like a lovely place to live. XX

  3. searchfamilies says:

    What a lovely Church, it was so nice of Annette & Clint, it hard when you can’t go yourself but you know that your parents would understand as does the rest of the family
    Hugs Janice

  4. rebeccacollis2015 says:

    Such beautiful photos and wonderful memories!

  5. Maggi says:

    I’m so sorry that you are not able to get there any more but how lovely of Clint and Annette to do this for you.

  6. Tonya says:

    How cool is that? Big house, looks pretty. Enjoyed the pics.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

