STANDARD

NOT a Flag apparently!!!

Readers of my Blog may remember I made a ‘Standard’ for the Air Scouts a while back. Oops apparently the wrong colour, so I had to make another. This time got his lordship  – Clint – to state the exact colours, then Annette went and bought the fabric for said Flag Standard. Here is a picture of the Wrong colour fl-Standard. I had bought a blank flag, [oh sod it you know what I mean,] and appliqued the fleur-de-lis and letters on. The flag is made of a sort of nylon stuff, it was a real pain to sew on as it kept slipping all over the darn place.

2I ordered yet another blank flag as the colour of this one looked to be a lot lighter than the one above, well it came and guess what, the blooming same,  grrrrrr. going by the picture you can see how I thought it was lighter. BUT nope, exactly the same as one up there which is of course the wrong colour……

2b

Anyway I now had the right colour as HL gave precise colour to Annette and she nipped orf to the shop and got the fabrics for me. Blue, Gold yellow and White. I decided I would use the second flag I bought for the back of the fleur-de-lis this time so it would not be wasted. {Just someone dare to tell me that is wrong and I may just flip my lid}  Why you ask was I making the flag in the first place? Because the blooming shops who sell these charge the earth to put the design on and then the letters are just exorbitant prices. Cost of this flag I made a mere fraction of theirs. So, here is the second attempt at the making of a flag for the Air Scouts.  Oh yeah, HL had added a few words he wanted on it, hmmmmm no really that’s OK I have nothing else to do…

3

I have to say I was quite pleased with how it looks, it does need a damn good steam press though. I couldn’t be bothered to do that I am afraid. The following picture is of its first outing….

45689Rebecca on Parade

WOO HOO Let’s hear it for 1st SYWELL AIR SCOUTS

Hubby said it should have been a double sided flag.

See that pole!!!!!

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in AIR SCOUTS WITH CLINT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to STANDARD

  1. QuiltShopGal says:

    I think your flag looks great! Love the colors and logo too!

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  2. searchfamilies says:

    Both look good if the 1st is too dark leave it in the sun it soon lighten up lol
    Hugs Janice

  3. Well done for sticking with it Jan but where’s the v-ing? lol
    M xx

  4. Kimberly Jones says:

    Wish I had known you were making a flag! I could have given you some hints and suggestions. Yes, that nylon is a Beach to sew!

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

