BACK IN TIME

Many moons ago I belonged to a group called FRIDAY NIGHT QUILT PARTY or something like that. The idea was you made one block of their choice per week. I thought I would never keep it up but I did, I made 52 blocks that year and here are a few of the quilts I made with said blocks. I used scraps I had lying around and when I came to join the blocks I put the same sized ones together to make life easier, sewed strips around each block to make them slightly larger, gave the borders the same treatment.

12 block sampler –

3a small sampler

Back view of above quilt –

3b back of small sampler

6 block sampler –

4a small sampler

Back view of above quilt –

4b back of small sampler

another 12 block sampler –

5a large sampler

Back view of above quilt –

I loved that backing fabric, as you can see I had it in three colourways, all used up now though –

5b back of large sampler

20 block sampler which I did join together but didn’t quilt, found it the other day when I was sorting the sewing room out and I have dismantled it back to 20 separate blocks, as I really do not want to have yet another of these quilts. I am going to make some of the blocks into bags for my groups raffle, others I will chop up and play with, others who knows? Got any ideas?

UFO's almost zapped1  Now in my book that totals 50 blocks, so where are the other 2 you ask?

I have no idea, I know I made them all though, I have a feeling I gave them away when I went through all my odd blocks last year or year before and sent to Tessa. Will never know now and quite honestly I have enough UFOs around I am not going to worry about two blocks.

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in Quilt, SEWING ROOM, UFO's and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BACK IN TIME

  1. Cool sampler quilts Jan. I recognise your backing fabrics. No such choices these days as the lady retired a few years ago because Aldi built on the site and reduces the market to small stalls. I don’t go there now as there’s nothing but food, pet and moblile cover stalls there now.
    M XX

  2. searchfamilies says:

    What great quilts that a good idea for doing blocks i guess even if it every other week you do a block so you have a 26 in a year i may have to pinch the idea lol
    Hugs Janice

  3. Maggi says:

    Lovely Jan. I started that but only got about 4 or 5 blocks done.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

