AROUND THE WORLD BLOG POST

I would like to thank Maggi B for nominating me to join in the fun with this Around the World Blog Post. I have known Maggi for a number of years now and she has always been very helpful to me, please do go and view her Blog if you have not already done so, you will find some truly wonderful things on there. Here is a link to her Blog, do take time to look all around Maggi’s Blog, there is a lot to see.

 http://www.maggi21handdyes.com/around-world-blog-post/

http://www.maggi21handdyes.com/

Part of belonging to this Blog Hop is to let folk know a little about me by answering some questions, so here goes.

  1. What am I working on?

At the moment I am working on several things at once, which seems to be the norm for me right now. I am quilting a quilt for a customer which is made of William Morris fabrics and just gorgeous, when finished I am hoping she will allow me to put it on my other Blog …http://janquiltseveryday.wordpress.com/……… for people to see. I am getting samples ready for my group in a fortnight’s time, I have been running this group ‘The Quilt Set’ with my daughter Suzanne and Granddaughter Rebecca for 15 years now, so I must be doing something right for folk. I insist there is only PQ and A done at my group, it makes me cross to see quilting group meetings with knitters and other types of work being done. NOT that I have anything against these crafts, I just feel if Quilting is in the title of the group that is what you should be seeing done [grumble over]  I am also making fabric postcards as a byline…… I was introduced to these by a friend some years back and cannot stop making them, I have over recent years started lots of people making them and organized many swaps around the world of these little works of art….http://jansfabricpostcards.wordpress.com/

  1. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Oh to be honest I don’t think I differ from any other Quilter. It may be that I am now tending to ‘quilt it to death’ as my friend Di tells me. I can do simple but I just love all the wonderful free motion quilting designs out there and try to use them as and when. When I get a customer request to quilt their quilt I always make sure they let me know what it is they expect me to do, been lucky so far in getting in right.   

  1. Why do I write/create what I do?

Oh that is easy, because I really love to quilt and a day without doing any quilting even only a tiny amount is one miserable day to me. The fact there are all these wonderful fabrics and threads so easily available now makes it really easy to create wonderful things. Hubby says I am only interested in anything if it is related to quilting, I wouldn’t actually go that far but he is probably pretty close!

4.  How does my writing/creating process work?

I am first and foremost a Quilter so let’s begin with a quilt. I make a quilt top in the design chosen, and then I tend to stare at it for a few days sometimes before inspiration dawns and at that point under my machine it goes for me to quilt. This is my machine I now have to use as I wore by beloved 1090 out boohooBernina-B330_0-500x500

I don’t think I have had a disappointment so far doing it this way, my own and customers’ quilts.

[Having re-read what I have put here it looks very simple, YOU of course know there is no such thing as simple in quilting, but I don’t wish to bore you with taking it through each minute step by step.]

I hope I have given you enough interest to have a good look through my Blog[s] and look forward to your comments, I will answer by email if I have yours, other-wise I answer directly on the Blog page you commented on. Thanks for looking. Enjoy the HOP

Now I have the pleasure to introduce you to TWO ladies both who agreed to do this Hop for me, I did kind of ‘coax’ both of them ha ha ha.

Cath and Marian will both be publishing on their Blogs on 24 November which is next Monday so do please remember to pop over to both of them, get a cup of something or glass of wine as you are going to be enthralled, so much to see. My thanks go to both of them for agreeing to do this by the way.

CATH STONARD – I met Cath at the Festival of Quilts some years ago and whilst talking to her I realised she was a very clever lady and made fabulous works of Art as you will see on her Blogs, I am always stunned by her work and feel sure you will be too. Such a lovely lady I feel privileged to know her.

MARIAN TURNER – Marian I also met at the Festival of Quilts, where else to meet top people I ask you? Marian makes wonderful items for her family and friends and has now launched  two Ebooks which are beautifully written as you will be able to see when she does her post for this Hop.

I think I had best click of publish as I have to get this Post on my Blog today 17th November, [by the skin of my teeth as usual]. I hope you have enjoyed by chatter.  Thank you for joining me.

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in Around the World Blog Hop, MAGGI B and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to AROUND THE WORLD BLOG POST

  1. SewCalGal says:

    Definitely fun chatter. And a nice way to get to know you better too! Thanks for sharing.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  2. Cath Stonard says:

    Brilliant job Jan, I’m now getting ‘cold feet’ about what I will have to write, but my first headache is going to be who I can find to continue this AROUND THE WORLD blogging thingy! Well done anyway, you’ve done a fantastic job with yours.

  3. maggi21 says:

    A great post Jan. I do agree with you about quilting groups too. They can become so lacking in focus if too many other things start to creep in.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

