REMEMBRANCE AND RESPECT

Poppies by Suzanne 3

Poppies by Suzanne

This year is the 100th anniversary of WW1, I do hope the British Legion raise a lot of much needed money this year, lots of things have been going on in various places the most noticeable I feel is the Tower of London Poppy display.

maxresdefaultChelsea Pensioner planting a ceramic poppyTower of London Poppiesclose up of the ceramic poppies

These ceramic poppies were to be sold £25 each. I tried to buy one but they had all gone which is good news for the Charities but I would have loved to have one

Poppies by Suzanne 5

Poppies by Suzanne

Poppies by Suzanne

On Remembrance Sunday here in Northampton town centre, Clint and Rebecca marched with the British Legion and at the end of the march, they collected from the crods of people who had come to watch the parade. I am so proud of Rebecca for doing this, Clint encouraged her and was pleased she did it, she is the youngest member of the Northampton Royal British Legion, I didn't know that. Well done both of you.

On Remembrance Sunday here in Northampton town centre, Clint and Rebecca marched with the British Legion and at the end of the march, they collected from the crods of people who had come to watch the parade. I am so proud of Rebecca for doing this, Clint encouraged her and was pleased she did it, she is the youngest member of the Northampton Royal British Legion, I didn’t know that. Well done both of you.

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in CLINT, REBECCA, REMEMBRANCE DAY 2014 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to REMEMBRANCE AND RESPECT

  1. SewCalGal says:

    What a special Remembrance. Thanks for sharing photos. Oh how I would have loved to have seen this up close. And, like you, to have bought one of these beautiful poppies. I too hope they raised a lot of money for a great, great cause. They certainly did an excellent job increasing awareness WW.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  2. Janice Aitkens says:

    My DGD Rebecca has just started her journey with the Army she has signed up for 12 years & will be doing her basic training for the next 14 weeks
    I remember when i was in the Girls Venture Corp (before girls joined the air cadets) i use to sell poppies & do the parade
    I think the poppies at the tower must have been a sight to see in person i have not been
    Well done to Rebecca selling the poppies not all youngsters even both
    Hugs Janice

  3. Diane-crewe says:

    my brother was in the Army for 24 years .. marched past the Cenotaph on Sunday with his regiment and has managed to buy one of the poppies x We need to ALWAYS remember x

  4. maggi21 says:

    Well done to Rebecca. She is looking so grown up in the photo. I still think of her as a little girl but I know that she isn’t really.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

