EBay or ETSY?

I have had a sort through my pile of Quilts and have decided I am willing to let these go, thing is, do I put them on Ebay or ETSY? What do you think? Also any idea on pricing would be most welcome, I am not very good at pricing my work, I never seem to get it right. Hubby thinks I go too cheap and peeps think it is probably naff…..hmmmmm Anyway here are pictures of the Quilts that are hopefully moving out.

1.  

CIRCLES – Length 64″ x Width 46″ – Fair amount of quilting on it – totally made by myself – NEW and unused

1a Circles 1b Circles 1c back of circles   –this is the backing–

2.  

SAMPLER BROWN & CREAM – 48 1/2″ Square – a lot of quilting on it – this was made from blocks I was in a swap with, the peach is the backing fabric – NEW and unused

2a Brown and Cream sampler 2b back of brown and cream sampler

 

3.  

SAMPLER TWELVE PATCH – Multi colours – Length 39″ x Width 30″ — extensive quilting on this – totally made by myself – the blue is the backing fabric – NEW and unused

 

3a small sampler 3b back of small sampler

 

4.

SAMPLER SIX PATCH – Multi colours – Length 47″ x Width 34″ — extensive quilting on this, totally made by myself – the yellow is the backing fabric – NEW and unused

 

4a small sampler 4b back of small sampler

 

5.

SAMPLER TWELVE PATCH – Multi colours – Length 48″ x Width 36″ – extensive quilting on this, totally made by myself – the pink is the backing fabric – NEW and unused

5a large sampler 5b back of large sampler

 

6.

HOUSES – Pink and Blue – 54 1/2″ Square – totally made by myself – this is extensively quilted – the blue is the backing fabric – NEW and unused

6a Houses and trees 6b back of Houses and trees

 

7.

UNDERGROUND RAILWAY QUILT – inspired to make by Tessa from PP forum and a book – ”Hidden in Plain View” – Brown, Blue and Cream – 62″ Square – totally made by myself – leaf fabric is backing fabric – lots of pictures as there is lots to see on this Quilt that tells a story – NEW and unused

7a URQ 7b back of urq 7c complete back of urq 7d close up of top border 7e Top Title7f Lower Title7g urq

 

8.

LIBERTY TEAPOTS – Blues and Pinks – the Dark Green is the backing fabric – 36″  Square – totally made by myself in 1999, it has been much used so shows signs of fading

8a Liberty teapots quilt 8b back of Liberty teapots

 

There we are then, eight quilts of varying sizes, any comments/advice would be most welcome, especially if you wish to purchase one. Email me and we can discuss it.

 

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in FOR SALE, HELP, Quilt, Stuff to go and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to EBay or ETSY?

  1. Mom's Place of Sanity says:

    Your quilts are lovely! Deciding on which site to sell on, its a tough decision, I personally sell on Etsy and have been having a hard time, I sell quilts and stuff. But, everyone’s success is different, its what you decide to choose to go with. There is also Storenvy which is completely free, only thing you have fees on are when a sale goes thru with Paypal, but that site again is a hit or miss. I would look around the sites and see which will help out in the long run. With pricing, I’m not the greatest, I’m still learning. I’ve been told take the cost of materials and times it by like 3.

  2. di5lexi says:

    Best place to start is to just spend some time on etsy (I like it better but you could do eBay) and research other people and check out if they have good sell rates and use that info to price your gorgeous quilts!! The story quilt would be lovely to donate if you ever found the right home (a museum or a heritage town where it would tell it’s story and inspire people and be lovingly cared for). 🙂 my fav though is the teapots \o/ it’s wonderful!!

  3. searchfamilies says:

    I don’t know how well Esty does while items don’t always sell on EBay i do believe that more people would look on there so more possible buyers
    Hugs Janice

  4. maggi21 says:

    I think I would be inclined to try Etsy Jan. People always seem to want something for nothing on Ebay and your quilts deserve more. Why don’t you have a browse on Etsy to see what people are selling for on there?

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

