NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Total panic set in with me last night. I was merrily stitching away and the needle fell out of my sewing machine onto the quilt I was doing – not your’s Claire – I screamed I think, possibly something rude too!! Then as I moved the needle a small piece of metal fell out, more screaming, hubby sauntered in – yep true – “ooh what’s that” says he, ‘No idea’ says I.

It turned out to be the tip of the screw that holds the needle in place. Errrrrr, right, errrr, do I start panicking now? YEP BIG TIME. Hubby has a look and confirms he cannot fix this…….no comment……… he said he will go to our local sewing machine shop to see if they have one in stock – fat chance I am thinking to myself but hey who knows.

I actually became quite calm at that point and moved my now broken 1090s to the back of my table,d4

dragged the dreaded B330 forwards.

Bernina-B330 - My new machine which I cannot get to grips with

Bernina-B330 – My new machine which I cannot get to grips with

Thinking this had better work……. well of course it didn’t. I had some fabric already sandwiched up for sample quilting so played with the machine for a couple of hours trying different things, but nothing to my satisfaction happened. The top stitching is absolutely fine but the back is, well, in a word. Crap. Hubby came in with a cup of coffee for me and said ‘how you doing’ so I showed him what I had been doing and he agrees with me that is just not satisfactory at all. I like the backs of my quilts to be as near as damn it perfect as the front,  yeah yeah I know I am picky.

Bringing you up to date on this, hubby did indeed go to the shop along with broken screw and my quilting sample. Lady in shop…

” Oh I’ve never seen that before, I wouldn’t know where to start looking for one of those”

Shelf I would have thought I do not want a second-hand manky screw thank you  Hubby asks if boss is about –

” Oh no he is in Bedford doing maintenance on school sewing machines, he will be here tomorrow though”

Hubby shows her the quilting piece I have done and the back in particular…

“Oh, I’ve never seen that happen before, how old is the machine?”

Less than a year old hubby says

“Oh I would take it back to the shop it is faulty.”

mmmmm

“Oh, where did you buy it?”

hahaha do I detect a note of panic??? I didn’t buy it from her shop so no problem, what a laugh though if I had…OH! indeed

So there we have it, wasted journey. Maybe she ought to familiarise herself with the stock they have – just a thought…. Anyway hubby is going back tomorrow for me to ask once again if they have one of these screws – he has actually found one on the Internet YAYYYYYY so if they don’t have it I am not fussed as I know we can get one. But more to the point he is also taking the sample quilting piece to see if chappie can enlighten us as to what the problem is.

If there is anyone out there who has this machine, Bernina B330, and you do perfectly good FMQ on it and it looks good at the back, can you let me know how you set it up please cause I just cannot get it right at all, I would be most grateful to you for any help you can give me for this machine anyway. The instruction book that came with it is pretty well less than useless for Quilters.

Meantime I am not going to panic as I know all I need is that little screw and I will be back FMQ’ing on my beautiful machine once again.

Claire if you are reading this, please do not worry I will be on your quilt as soon as that new screw arrives. I am not doing your beautiful Quilt on that ‘other’ machine. I would rather loan Annette’s Janome……good grief. 🙂

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in LIFE and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  1. quilterdi says:

    It will get sorted Jan!

  2. OMG Jan…. I feel your pain. I hope you get both sorted out asap. We can’t have an idle Quilt Whisperer because of a screw…making me break out in clammy perspiration.
    It’s time now to address the problems with new machine for your peace of mind too. Can’t be good for you getting stressed like this.
    Fingers crossed for good news for you today…. XX
    M

  3. searchfamilies says:

    Knowing you Janet it will be alright & the quilt you were working on it won’t even be noticed & still be perfect, i know you will have it sorted i think i need to send Greg to your hubby for sewing machine maintenance course lol actually he not had to do much with my one
    Hugs Janice

  4. Diane-crewe says:

    hope all is sorted out soon x I hate it when the dammed thing just wont work!!

  5. sheppeylass says:

    Oh no! Hope you get back on track today.
    DH has offered me a new machine “as your’s gets such use”. Have begun looking and wondering…know he is right but this will be worse than shoe buying as HAVE to get it right!

  6. maggi21 says:

    I hope that you get the screw sorted and that they can give you some advice about the problem with your new machine. I’m sure you’ve already done this, and I don’t know what the back looks like, but have you changed the bobbin tension and loosened the top tension when doing FMQ? I find that with some threads my Bernina needs the top tension lowering as far as 0

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

