21 JUNE 2014 – MACHINE DAY AT MY GROUP

Today is the longest day, Summer Solstice and also our 45th Wedding Anniversary, we got Wine from Suzanne and Richard and a Costa voucher from Annette, Rebecca and Clint – they all know what we like. Thank you all of you. I bought hubby a bottle of Glenfiddich Malt Whisky [he used to like it, let’s hope he still does ha ha] and he bought me a Fuchsia for the empty tub at the bottom of the garden…

Fuschia from hubby [45]

…and a hanging basket ready done for outside the kitchen window

Hanging Basket from hubby [45]Of course he said the same thing he does every year on this date – “you don’t get that for murder” Anyway, how did we celebrate 45 years, well I have no idea what he did but I went to my Machine Class for the Girls at my group, I had an Amish or not!! Machine day and I had a lovely time. Here are the pictures to prove it too…

Me and my wheels….

Me and my wheelsNote the number plate….

My wheels number plateThe ladies at the group were all good sports when I ran over their toes – only joking, although I did manage to ram the hall stage a few times when trying to reverse up to my sewing machine, not quite got the hang of that yet, oops.

The Machine class was called AMISH or not!! I wanted to introduce the ladies to Amish style quilts, but gave them the choice of making it one of two ways and in their own colour choices – hence the ‘or not’ bit, here is what they did…

My samples for them to get the idea of Amish or not!!

Amish sample 1 Amish Sample 2 Amish Sample 3

Bridget’s squares being trimmed, this is going to be brilliant I just know it..

Bridget

Dee studying her layout…

Dee 1

…looks like she has cracked it…

Dee 2

Gail looking very pensive in one her new dresses she has made herself, well done Gail it looked great…

Gail

Janet B1 cutting out her squares [see Janet we didn’t get your bum in the picture ha ha]

Janet B 1 Cutting

Janet B2 trial layout

Janet B 2 trial layout

..Yep that looks good…

Janet B 2 final layout

Janet B1’s  cut squares now joined together – superb…

Janet Basford

Jill’s very Amish style top coming along nicely, love this Jill…

Jill

Margaret busy stitching away…

Margaret

Pat’s Squares in their layout, looking good…

Pat

Sally’s trial layout…

Sally trial layout

Sally’s final layout decided, love it, William M eat your heart out…

Sally

Sue’s blocks ready for playing…

Sue Taylor

Suzanne’s blocks getting there – gorgeous colours…

Suzanne's

Wendy’s trial layout…

Wendy's trial layout

Wendy busily stitching away and then a needle went BANG – as they do…

Wendy

…two rows of Wendy’s blocks assembled, looking good…

Wendy's

EILEEN, GAIL and MARGARET  –  I have no idea how yours all got missed, can you send me a picture please so I can add them to this page? Many thanks.

When these ladies signed up for this machine class, some were quite worried as they were really not sure at all about Amish style Quilts, but I can tell you at the end of the day, every single one of these ladies – 12 in the class – came up and said how much they had enjoyed the day and were surprised at how much they had got done. The reason for them getting a lot done is probably because I am a bit of a slave-driver on the machine days, I don’t allow much chat, I feel as they are paying me they want to have something to show for it at the end of the day. I like to see the smiling faces at the end of the day, and at the end of this one they didn’t want to leave I more or less had to kick them out ha ha ha.

Thank you ladies, I thoroughly enjoyed today, wonderful anniversary for me spending it with all of you. I look forward to seeing these FINISHED at some point…Oh Yessssss.

 

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in FAMILY, FRIENDS, FUN, MACHINE DAY, QUILT SET and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 21 JUNE 2014 – MACHINE DAY AT MY GROUP

  1. sheppeylass says:

    Congratulations, Jan, on both your anniversary and a successful class!

  2. Liz says:

    No matter were in the world we live, all quilters do the same. The only difference is we have just had our shortest day of the year. I must get back to blogging, I am just sooo tired lately
    Happy Quilting Liz

    • Hi Liz, good to see you here, this has been our ‘Longest Day’ the Summer Solstice and all that….am really tired now, but had to get this all on here on the correct day for once. Will be in touch very soon. jan

  3. searchfamilies says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary, I think it a man thing as mine says the same thing & my brother said the same yesterday when we was talking lol
    The quilts are beautiful the ladies have done a great job which you help them as well if only by challenging them
    Hugs Janice

  4. Diane-crewe says:

    sounds like a good way to spend your anniversary to me xx Hope hubby STILL likes the whisky xx

  5. Carol B says:

    Congratulations to you and Hubby on your anniversary. Looks like you had a great day with your class. I love your number plate, good to see you are enjoying being mobile again. xx

  6. Kerstin says:

    Congratulations on the anniversary. Well done 45 years. the class looked like fun. there be some wonderful quilts coming.

  7. maggi21 says:

    Good way to celebrate your anniversary – that’s an impressive number. Love your number plate and your class look like they have really taken to the Amish way.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

