SUNGLASSES AT THE READY

Please don’t say I didn’t warn you….. I have finished my quilt started at my machine class of Curvaceous Curves. I made it if you remember using very bright colours, Oranges, Lemons and Lime Greens – see why you need sunglasses? Anyway in between doing quilts for customers I have finally finished this little beauty or really not so little and I am absolutely thrilled with it. The border quilting seemed to go on forever but that is my own fault for trying to perfect McTavishing, still not quite got it, but give me time….. The individual curve blocks were all quilted using patterns from Leah Day’s little book I bought some time ago….available at AMAZON where you can as you can see – look inside it….Leah Day's bookso as I said, using lots of the designs from this little book I managed to get my quilt done, so thank you to Leah Day and to Karen McTavish for such fabulous inspiration. Here is the Quilt then…lots of pictures cos I just love it folks….

The completed quilt…

CITRUS QUILT 001following are lots of close-ups of blocks… CITRUS QUILT 002 CITRUS QUILT 003..this is my attempt at McTavishing – apologies to Karen I don’t quite have it….yet!! CITRUS QUILT 004 more close-ups…CITRUS QUILT 005 CITRUS QUILT 006 CITRUS QUILT 007 CITRUS QUILT 008 CITRUS QUILT 009 CITRUS QUILT 010 CITRUS QUILT 011 CITRUS QUILT 012 remember ALL those designs are from that little book by Leah Day –

– more McTavishing but this is the view from the wrong side of the quilt…CITRUS QUILT 013 all the blocks had pebbles for the half-moon shape and a fancy quilting pattern for the ‘L’ shape, plus all these blocks were cut free hand so they are all different sizes…CITRUS QUILT 014 CITRUS QUILT 015

CITRUS QUILT 016

Oh I must just thank my machine for coming up trumps too –

MY BELOVED MACHINE

MY BELOVED MACHINE – where would I be without you…..

There we are folks you have made it to the end of all those very bright pictures. Many thanks for looking and please let me know what you think – honest opinions welcome – I will still talk to you 🙂 Tomorrow I start to machine quilt a quilt I received today from Tessa. It is fabulous, I couldn’t wait to get it pinned up…here is the proof… this is it on the boards ready for the pinning stage, I have actually pinned it so tomorrow just guess what I will be doing, happy dance happy dance. Tessa's quilt on the boardsOH, one more thing before I go, I got tempted…yes I did and bought some of the lovely Maggi’s fabrics…Ohhhhhhhh how could I possibly not buy –   it would have been rude not to.

201_Iris_3 202_Iris_4fabric_Oh-So-Pink_4_179fabric_springtime_2

You see, how could I not buy them, they are just so yummy, you too can buy some of Maggi’s fabrics if you go here   http://www.maggi21handdyes.com/fabrics-2/cotton/   you will see she has other items too for sale, all hand dyed, she is so clever. Thank you once again Maggi, I love my fabrics.

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in FRIENDS, MACHINE DAY, MAGGI B, Quilt, QUILT SET, QUILTING FOR OTHERS, Tutorials, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to SUNGLASSES AT THE READY

  1. Amazing work Janet! It looks wonderful and happy!

    • Not sure if I answered you so I will say thank you for the kind comment and apologise if I am repeating myself, it comes with age 🙂 hope you enjoyed your visit and will come again.

  2. M says:

    OMG Jan, You’ll have to tell me the names of each quilting style as I now have so much to choose from when I send my next quilt to you now….hahaha Gorgoeus!
    M xxx

  3. M says:

    Oops sorry, I meant gorgeous of course!
    M

  4. Audrey Penny says:

    What an absolute star you are Jan, that quilting is amazing! Wouldn’t like to guess how many hours of work went into making it but such a wonderful work of art. Keep it up!!! Can I ask how you sandwich a big quilt on your boards as I have real difficulty putting big quilts together?

  5. searchfamilies says:

    What beautiful quilting you do such beautiful work i think your quilting is so good which in turn makes your quilts a piece of Art
    Hugs Janice

  6. Kerstin says:

    amazing quilting. I wish I could see you in action. I would love to see how you handle all the Quilt under the machine and still have room to come up with such wonderful quiltin. Would love to steal some ideas. lol

  7. Eileen says:

    Wonderful Jan. Working on my stars. Do you drop feed dogs or leave them up as Leah Day does. Going to Kent on Monday to deliver a cat to mum. E

  8. Jackie says:

    I love your quilt, the colours, the pattern and best of all the quilting. I think you McTavishing is great, I’ve been practicing and practicing and it’s truly been hit and miss but I still persist.

  9. Maggi says:

    What a fantastic range of quilting Jan. Glad you liked the fabrics 🙂

  10. SewCalGal says:

    What a gorgeous quilt with beautiful free-motion quilting. You’ve mastered so many different FMQ designs. Yeah! I’m still working on McTavishing. Right when I start to think I am getting it, I go off rhythm and it looks terrible. I think yours looks great.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  11. Leah Day says:

    Wow! This is incredible! I disagree – you’ve totally got McTavishing down and it looks great!

    Thank you so much for sharing my book along with your post. It really made my day!

    • Hello Leah,
      thank you for visiting and it is my pleasure to show your book, after all that is what I used for all the patterns I quilted, great fun to do too. Thank you for writing that one along with the others, may have to purchase those too now.
      jan mce

  12. Sue Roesner says:

    Fabulous!

  13. Carol B says:

    What can I say Jan, stunning, amazing, fabulous. Just looking at your quilt & the quilting has really brightened my day – Thank you

  14. Carol B says:

    I was so impressed by your quilting and your recommendation of Leah’s book that I just had to order a copy for myself 🙂 It will be many years before I am up to your standard Jan (if ever) but there is no harm in having fun practising.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

