SATURDAY AT QUILT SET

Had a really lovely day at my group on Saturday, very busy but was a great day, had two new ladies join one I knew from way back Hi Sally and one who I met through this Blog, Hi Eileen it was lovely to meet you for real.

Pat B  started a new swap within the group too at this meeting – a Dresden Plate swap – I am looking forward to seeing these as they come in each month, the Hexagon swap Pat does alongside this one is also going strong, I would think some of the ladies would have enough of those to make something by now.  Lots of things going on in the group now I think it is great there are so many different things happening for the ladies now, all helps to keep their interest up and the group going strong.

I set up a Birthday Club within the group and quite a few ladies signed up, they tell me their birthday MONTH and favourite colour and the others in the club have to cut them a piece of fabric 12 1/2″ or bigger if they cannot cut straight, these are presented to the birthday girl of the month in envelopes for her to open in front of us on the day of the meeting, [[took a pile of pinks with me in case some had forgotten, glad I did I had to cut four lots……]]

Here are some pictures from the day, hope you enjoy them.

Tillie was our first birthday girl and her chosen colour was PINK, she was thrilled with her fabrics –

I set up a Birthday Club within the group and quite a few ladies signed up, they tell me their birthday MONTH and favourite colour and the others in the club have to cut them a piece of fabric 12 1/2" or bigger if they cannot cut straight, these are presented to the birthday girl of the month in envelopes for her to open in front of us on the day of the meeting, took a pile of pinks with me in case some had forgotten, glad I did I had to cut four lots......Tillie was out first birthday girl and her colour was PINK, she was thrilled with her fabrics.

Sylvia rang me and asked if her SIL could come to the group as she was visiting with her and she didn’t want to miss the day, of course she was more than welcome, shame when someone has to miss their day at the group, anyway Sue was a lovely lady and she brought along some foundation piecing to do at the group, what a star, just look at the following pictures, these are about 4″ — – 6″ they are tiny, but so good. Thank you for sharing with us Sue, do come again –

Sylvia rang me and asked if her SIL could come to the group as she was visiting with her and she didn't want to miss the day, of course she was more than welcome, shame when someone has to miss their day at the group, anyway Sue was a lovely lady and she brought along some foundation picing to do at the group, what a star, just look at the following pictures, these are about 4 - 6" they are tiny, but so good. Thank you for sharing with us Sue, do come again...

..this bird has a teensyweensy piece in it, I was stunned how small it was –

..this bird has a teensyweensy piece in it, I was stunned how small it was....

..fabulous mariners compass in miniature –

..fabulous mariners compass in miniature...

..beach huts and beach groins, just fabulous –

..beach huts and groins, just fabulous...

..this fish was made of a silver fabric and I love the reeds at the side of it –

..this fish was made of a silver fabric and I love the reeds at the side of it..

..brilliant lighthouse I would love to see what Sue does with all these tiny pictures, I feel sure they are going to be something wonderful –

..brilliant lighthouse... I would love to see what Sur does with all these tiny pictures, I feel sure they are going to be something wonderful...

Tillie – our birthday girl of the month – was doing this embroidery for a wall hanging for her dad’s boat. I don’t normally allow embroidery at my group but let this go as she had to finish it for mid week and was out partying tonight for her birthday….she was very quick and it was a brilliant stitch she did, I was in awe of her speed at it –

Tillie - our birthday girl of the month - was doing this embroidery for a wall hanging for her dad's boat. I don;t normally allow embroidery at my group but let this go as she had to finish it for mid week and was out partying tonight for her birthday....she was very quick and it is a brilliant stitch she did, I was in awe of her speed at it...

These stars are the beginning of our three month project. The ladies like something to get their teeth into and when I told them the amount of pieces they had to cut for this project they got the ‘bit between their teeth’ ha ha ha, they have to make 12 of these stars, obviously the machinists did far better than the hand sewers but I told them this is not a race so not to worry, we will all arrive at the end together, we always do, main thing is to have fun and enjoy yourselves –

These stars are the beginning of our three month project. The ladies like something to get their teeth into and when I told them the amount of pieces they had to cut for this project they got the 'bit between their teeth' ha ha ha,  they have to make 12 of these stars, obviously the machinists did far better than the hand sewers but I told them this is not a race so not to worry, we will all arrive at the end together, we always do... main thing is to have fun and enjoy yourselves...

SHOWTIME –

Suzanne did the holding up of the items for me as I can no longer get on the stage to do it I took the piccies instead, this cushion was made by Debbie, it is from the February meeting which Suzanne ran for me as I was ill, I love this block I must make mine, well done Debbie fabulous colours –

SHOWTIME - Suzanne did the holding up of the items for me as I can no longer get on the stage to do it..I took the piccies instead, this cushion was made by Debbie, it is from the February meeting which Suzanne ran for me as I was ill, I love this bl9ock I must make mine...well done Debbie, fabulous colours

..oops sorry about the blurry photo I must have moved the camera, this was made by Margaret, same as Debbie’s as you can see but don’t they always look so different in other colours, in the middle this had a gorgeous button and I was very tempted to just ‘nip’ it off, only joking Margaret, well done —

Suzanne do you have a better picture of this for me please??

..oops sorry about the blurry photo I must have moved the camera, this was made by Margaret, same as Debbie's as you can see but don't they always look so different in other colours.. in the middle this had a gorgeous button and I was very tempted to just 'nip' it off, only joking Margaret, well done love it

Sue T went on stage to give Suzanne a hand with these quilt, [thank you Sue] it is HUGE as you can see, it was made by Debbie, she had been asked by someone to make it for her daughter and to get me to quilt it. woohoo I cannot wait to start this one, going to be fun getting this under my machine. Debbie once again you have made a fabulous quilt I love love love this pattern, clever girl –

Sue T went on stage to give Suzanne a hand with these quilt, it is HUGE as you can see, it was made by Debbie, she had been asked by someone to make it for her daughter and to get me to quilt it. woohoo I cannot wait to start this one, going to be fun getting this under my machine. Debbie once again you have made a fabulous quilt I love love love this pattern, clever girl.

 

Here is a close up of the design for you to see folks, isn’t it gorgeous?

quilt set April 2014 0213

Annette [my younger daughter] made this quilt with fabrics from a swap she was in with Popular Patchwork Forum, she brought it up for me to quilt for her saying, do what you like I don’t like this anymore…hmmmmmm

quilt set April 2014 014

So I quilted it with circles all over, was fun to do, and when she saw it she has decided she likes it after all, you cannot see the quilting very well on the front so here is a pik of the back hopefully you can see it now –

quilt set April 2014 015That was our Showtime for the day, I was a little disappointed as I felt that was not very much – four things, no no no ladies, you have got to do better than that, next time they have promised me more…we shall see.

I had a surprise for the ladies at this meeting, I had been shopping and had bought loads of fabrics to sell at the group as we don’t have a stall holder anymore. They are all very pretty fabrics, I was thrilled to get them, the ladies seemed to like them too so hopefully they will all sell eventually and I said ALL the money from the sale of the  fabrics go towards buying more for them, so the more they buy the more I get for them, a win win situation I feel. I am also taking a percentage out of the sales of the fabrics to go to our Charity of the year which is still H4H.  I am trying to do my best for the ladies as they support me and I like to do what I can for them. Just realised I didn’t take a picture of all the fabrics…derr

Not content with all the new things that are happening within the group I have been having Amish withdrawal symptoms for some time now so have set up an Amish Machine Day in June for anyone in the group to join, it will be a quilt in a day more or less – ha ha – but don’t tell them.  About eight ladies have signed up for it so it looks as though it may go ahead, I really like to have at least ten ladies but as I really wish to make one myself I feel this will go ahead. Busy busy busy…..it is what keeps me going.

************************************

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in QUILT SET and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SATURDAY AT QUILT SET

  1. searchfamilies says:

    As Usual sounds like a really fun day, so what is the Amish day will you be doing a Amish quilt, well that me as they have a saying no one is perfect except God so they make sure there is a mistake in it well my quilts have more than one lol love the idea of the Dresden Plate & even the hexagon swap sounds like your very busy group now by the way been meaning to tell you have you seen this link http://www.nenequilters.com/5.html it for groups in our region may be if you wanted to contact them for yours to be added
    Hugs Janice

  2. Eileen says:

    Hi Jan
    Thanks for Saturday. Really enjoyed myself. Can’t wait for the next one.
    E

  3. maggi21 says:

    You really do inspire your group to produce wonderful things. Love what you did with Annette’s circles.

    By the way, I had a strange text from you, half of it missing but I am assuming it’s confirming that you got the fabrics.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

