HAPPY DANCE

I have finished a few quilts of late and am thrilled to be able to cross them off my UFO list.

First Quilt is of Amish style Baskets, these were made for me by the ladies of a house group I had many many years ago. I dread to actually think when this was – my friend Di can probably remember, not I!!!!  Anyway it is now FINISHED…yay…. Annette took a liking to this quilt so she has it now. I quilted each basket with a different style of Vermicelli….IE; V with hearts, or V with stars etc etc. This was to get Vermicelli OUT of my head and gone. I have used it far too much and have learned so many new quilting patterns I am going to try really hard NOT to ‘V’ ever again, unless when I do a quilt for someone they particularly ask for it…like Marian…hee hee

 Amish Basket front

Amish Basket front

Amish Basket centre

Amish Basket centre

Amish Basket close up

Amish Basket

Amish Basket

 Amish Basket

Amish Basket

Amish Basket

Amish Basket

Amish Basket - back

Amish Basket – back

Amish Basket -centre

Amish Basket -centre

Amish Basket -side view

Amish Basket -side view

Amish Basket - top view

Amish Basket – top view

Amish Basket -other side

Amish Basket -other side

 My Baby Jane - front

My Baby Jane – front view — I kept roughly to the same idea as the original by doing the colours in a ‘log cabin’ effect along with the block pattern too...ha ha laughing because I did this with my group and each year they all asked had I done mine yet??? Well Yep I can say I have now….

My Baby Jane close up of border treatment

My Baby Jane close up of border treatment which I loved doing, I chopped all of the DJ Reproduction fabrics I had into 1 1/2″strips for this border….

My Baby Jane

My Baby Jane showing centre and my quilting treatment for each block, of which each had a different pattern…

My Baby Jane

…hope you can see the designs used…

My Baby Jane - back

My Baby Jane – back view…

My Baby Jane - back close up

My Baby Jane – back close up

My Baby Jane - close up green showing through

My Baby Jane – close up green slightly showing through

My Baby Jane - more green on show

My Baby Jane – more green on show of the backing fabric which had light green flowers all over it…

My Baby Jane - stippling close up

My Baby Jane – stippling close up it took ages to do each block which measures 6″ square – what fun!!

This Quilt was a design by GETA, I trial tested it for her before she put it up for sale, it went together an absolute dream, I called it CAMERA LENS...can you see why?? I love this quilt it is a keeper...MINE all MINE...thank you to Geta who designed it and allowed me to post on here....

This Quilt was a design by GETA, I trial tested it for her before she put it up for sale, it went together an absolute dream, I called it CAMERA LENS…can you see why?? I love this quilt it is a keeper…MINE all MINE…thank you to Geta who designed it and allowed me to post it on here….

Camera Lens centre

Camera Lens centre

Camera Lens - close up

Camera Lens – close up

Camera Lens

Camera Lens

6 Camera Lens - Back

Camera Lens – back view…I am so pleased with how this looks

8 Camera Lens

Close up

9 Camera Lens

10 Camera Lens

Just love this quilt front and back. Thank you again Geta for letting me test it, use it on here and possible enter in a competition – thinking about it….

 Sunbonnets on the boards - this is going to go to one of my friend Betty's Great Grandchildren

Sunbonnets on the boards – this is going to go to one of my friend Betty’s Great Grandchildren

Sunbonnets - partially pinned

Sunbonnets – partially pinned

Sunbonnets before quilting

Sunbonnets before quilting

Sunbonnets - before quilting

Sunbonnets – before quilting

Sunbonnets quilted - front

Sunbonnets Quilt – finished

Sunbonnets - first four

Sunbonnets – first four

Sunbonnets - next four with Fisherman Sam

Sunbonnets – next four with Fisherman Sam

Sunbonnets - next four with Overall Bill

Sunbonnets – next four with Overall Bill

Sunbonnets last four with a Sam and Bill and Flag

Sunbonnets last four with a Sam and Bill and Flag

Sunbonnets - close up

Sunbonnets – close up showing this block now quilted 

Sunbonnets - close up

Sunbonnets – close up

Sunbonnets close up - I love this one

Sunbonnets close up – I love this one – ————-This is the final picture for the UFO’s, I hope you have enjoyed looking at them as much as I have in finishing them….

 

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in GETA, UFO's and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to HAPPY DANCE

  1. nsturgill says:

    Love the camera lens and the quilting!

  2. Raewyn says:

    Lots of gorgeous Eye Candy today Jan!! I have enjoyed looking at them thank you and great to see how you have finished these ufos. I love the camera lens one – unique, and such a cool back!!

  3. M says:

    Hi Jan (The Quilt Whisperer)
    All fab-u-lous quilting techniques Jan, can’t wait to see how my quilt spoke to you…… M xx

  4. Caz says:

    Fantastic quilting. Love the Sunbonnet quilt.

  5. gail says:

    the quilting is beautiful i wish i could quilt that well see you soon

  6. Janice Aitkens says:

    Beautiful quilts & quilting as usual, i remember the DJ one
    Hugs Janice

  7. Eileen says:

    Beautiful quilts a pleasure to see.
    E

  8. Jackie says:

    Beautiful quilts and quilting, thanks so much for sharing.

  9. Audrey Penny says:

    Wow, Wow and Wow again. What beautiful quilts and amazing quilting, thank you for sharing Jan.

  10. I have emailed all of you with thanks for your very kind comments here. I do appreciate them. Glad you enjoyed my quilts, I did too as they are now done and dusted….

  11. Sue Wild says:

    I love the camera lens quilt and the quilting on the back is phenomenal! Wish my free motion quilting was that brilliant (note to me: must practice more! )

  12. maggi21 says:

    Gorgeous Jan. What’s the difference between vermicelli and stippling?

    • mmmm the way I see it Maggi is Vermicelli is a medium to large meander [hahaha] stippling is very tight close together vermicelli..does that make sense? Probably not. I think I may do a couple of sample and whack them on here so peeps can understand what I mean, good one Maggi….. People say Vermicelli is like a jigsaw puzzle I beg to differ, it is nothing like a jigsaw puzzle, unless they mean it just goes all over the place, but then jigsaw pieces don’t,they are usually pretty uniform in shape and size…am I being picky now?????? That is the sort of point that gets me into lots of trouble with people and they eventually give up on me. ho ho ho. Just made myself a note to do sample anyway…..

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

