MY GROUP’s DAY SATURDAY

We have sadly lost two Members this year, each a shock I can tell you, first Barbara W died then my lovely friend of at least 30 years Betty W died very suddenly.

I requested the ladies to bring something for our Showtime so we could have a great display of quilts and things in memory of these two lovely ladies.  I pulled quite a few of my own out to take along – just in case.

Betty’s funeral was on Friday the day before the meeting and after the service, when we had gone to Betty’s favourite local pub for the Wake, I managed to have a quick quiet word with one of her daughter’s – Vivienne – explaining what was to happen the following day and invited her to come along if she was able.

I am thrilled to say she did come along plus several members of Betty’s family and her lovely husband Bill bless him.  For a minute or two I couldn’t quite speak properly to tell the truth, I was so pleased they all managed to come, the ladies too made them all very welcome. My friend Di took care of them whilst I did the Showtime.

Our very Special Guests - Betty's family members

Our very Special Guests – Betty’s family members

Following are pictures of our Special Showtime for Barbara and Betty.

Blocks made by Betty, quilt finished by Annette

Blocks made by Betty, quilt finished by Annette

Blocks made by Betty - finished by Rebecca

Blocks made by Betty – finished by Rebecca

Rebecca looking at Betty's quilts....

Rebecca looking at Betty’s quilts….

Table runner by Barbara M

Table runner by Barbara M, made with Hexagons from the in group swap run by Pat B

Hanging from Feb meeting by Barbara M

Hanging from Feb meeting by Barbara M

Dee's quilt

Dee’s quilt – a project we did a few years ago…

Dee's Dear Jane quilt

Dee’s Dear Jane quilt – that’s Rebecca in the background…

Dee made this for a friend's child - this is the front....

Dee made this for a friend’s child – this is the front….

....and this is the back...

….and this is the back…

Beautiful bag made by Dee - I was really taken with this I can tell you

Beautiful bag made by Dee – I was really taken with this I can tell you

Quilt all the way from New Zealand, made by Di's friend Evie for her for Christmas...

Quilt all the way from New Zealand, made by Di’s friend Evie for her for Christmas…

Gail's Trip Around the World quilt...

Gail’s Trip Around the World quilt from a machine day we had a while back…

Janet B's project from the Feb meeting...

Janet B’s project from the Feb meeting…

Jenny - one of my newest members made this stunning cushion - well done Jenny

Jenny – one of my newest members made this stunning cushion – well done Jenny

Beautiful cushion made by Polly, it is the block from Feb which Suzanne sorted for them...

Beautiful cushion made by Polly, it is the block from Feb which Suzanne sorted for them…

Polly's hanging from the Feb meeting

Polly’s hanging from the Feb meeting

Marian's quilt - quilted by me

Marian’s quilt – quilted by me – more about this quilt on my other blog…. 

http://janquiltseveryday.wordpress.com/

Dragonfly Dance, made by me for a competition many years ago - I didn't win anything....

Dragonfly Dance, made by me for a competition many years ago – I didn’t win anything….

 my Dear Jane Quilt finished at last, I bet the ladies were beginning to think I would never do it...

my Dear Jane Quilt finished at last, I bet the ladies were beginning to think I would never do it…

One of my very old UFO's finally completed, Annette is going to have this she took a fancy to it...

One of my very old UFO’s finally completed,  my younger daughter Annette is going to have this she took a fancy to it…

I took my Doodle quilt along for today and was glad I did...reason later...

I took my Doodle quilt along for today- one of Betty’s Grand daughters took a shine to this quilt, so I gave it to her I was pleased to.

Red, white and blue sampler quilt by me...

Red, white and blue sampler quilt by me…this quilt has gone to Dan, one of my friend Di’s Grandsons

I call this my LENS quilt, it was designed by Geta, I tested the pattern then finally quilted it to make another UFO done and dusted...

I call this my LENS quilt, it was designed by Geta, I tested the pattern then finally quilted it to make another UFO done and dusted…

Pink and white quilt made from squares sent to me by SewCalGal, another finished yay...

Pink and white quilt made from squares sent to me by SewCalGal, another finished yay…this has gone to one of Betty’s Great Grand daughters, I was pleased to let it go… I am also going to finish a Sunbonnet quilt for her bigger sister to have, only fair isn’t it….

Sue T's Curves quilt from our machine day last year, love it Sue, well done...

Sue T’s Curves quilt from our machine day last year, love it Sue, well done…

Tillie has made this cute fun hanging for her mum's kitchen...

Tillie has made this cute fun hanging for her mum’s kitchen…

Tillie also designed and made this little 'sock-dog' he is a Scot, can you see...

Tillie also designed and made this little ‘sock-dog’ he is a Scot, can you see…

...other side of the sock-dog...

…other side of the sock-dog…

Wendy has made this gorgeous little bag, fabulous fabrics...

Wendy has made this gorgeous little bag, fabulous fabrics, really pretty…

This is almost the end of the Special Showtime I hope you all enjoyed the work of the ladies as much as I did, I can tell you Betty’s family members enjoyed themselves and I was thrilled to have them there. I do have one more item to show you. Vivienne brought along one of Betty’s quilts for the Showtime, it was we believe the first patchwork quilt Betty had made which got her ‘hooked’ onto Patchwork and quilting. It is made from Bill’s old shirts pyjamas and the childrens’ clothes. A TRUE patchwork quilt. Thank you so much Vivienne for sharing this beauty with us.

Betty's possible first quilt

Betty’s possible first quilt

I will miss her

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in QUILT SET and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to MY GROUP’s DAY SATURDAY

  1. Tess wallace says:

    Morning Jan , you’ve got me in tears….the photos are beautiful, the quilts are stunning, what a lovely idea you had there for a dear friend. Well done my dear .. xxx

  2. Maggi says:

    Tears in my eyes too Jan as I read this post. What a wonderful tribute to these two ladies and Betty’s family must have been very touched to see how much she was loved.

  3. Kerstin says:

    Im sorry for your loss. But a nice way to of tribute to your friends.

  4. gail says:

    thanks for a lovely day i loved the sewing you did with the crystals on it was beautiful and it was great that Bettys family came in to see us .

  5. Eileen says:

    Hi Jan
    Looks like I missed a good but sad meeting. Couldn’t come as was wedding anniversary and other half took me out. Hope to come to the next one. Been looking at your quilting which I really enjoyed.
    E

  6. Audrey Penny says:

    What a lovely tribute to your friends Jan, and for the family to be present must have been a very emotional meeting. Glad you have recovered from your illness too. x

  7. Thank you girls for the kind comments, I have emailed you all; it was a good meeting I kept them very busy all day. Plus I have to say a huge thank you to all those ladies who helped me out by buying all the books and magazines I took along. I have lots of lovely space in my sewing room now – 🙂

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

