WHY?

The month of February seemed to pass me by as I was ill for the majority of it. Pleased to say I am on the mend slow but sure will win the day for me.

Due to being ill I was unable to take the first Quilt Set of the year [my quilting group] I coaxed my Suzanne into running it for me and she did a sterling job so many thanks to her, Pat too for her assistance. Pictures further on.

Whilst ill I had some very sad news about one of my ladies in the group – Barbara Wood passed away. I was very sad to hear that, Barbara made some beautiful things at my group and seemed to enjoy herself at each meeting, there were always lots of giggles at her table, she will be sadly missed.

Barbara full of concentration for her sewing

Barbara full of concentration for her sewing

Barbara, a very tidy work area always.

Barbara, a very tidy work area always

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today, I have been working on the Newsletter for the next meeting of my group, it has come around very quickly it seems, and once again some more sad news. I learnt today that Betty Waters, who I have known for at least 30 years I would say, not only a member of my group but a very dear friend has sadly died. To say this was a shock is putting it mildly, I am so sad to hear this particularly as I was unable to be at the previous meeting, where Suzanne said Betty was in attendance and looking good. I had been so worried about her but Betty was of the old school where you got on with things and didn’t grumble. She always said ‘Don’t fuss dear, I’m fine’  A real Lady too in all the years I have known Betty I never ever heard her say a bad word about anyone, if ever I grumbled to her about anyone, she would say something like, ‘we are all different we have to accept others ways of thinking’  or she would grin and say ‘I know what you mean but then that’s the way she is’.  Betty I am going to miss you, I hope you get a quilt group going up there, I am sure you will. Rest in Peace my friend.

Picture of Betty taken a few years back, resting between sewing and chatting.

Picture of Betty taken a few years back, resting between sewing and chatting.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Following are pictures Suzanne took at her February meeting, she had set them two tasks, one a block for the morning and a small hanging for the afternoon…..

Anne's

Anne’s

Barbara M's

Barbara M’s

Claire's

Claire’s

Debbie for Pat's  birthday

Debbie for Pat’s birthday

Debbie's

Debbie’s

Debbie's Hearts

Debbie’s Hearts

Debbie's quilt

Debbie’s quilt

Debbie's runner

Debbie’s runner

Gail's

Gail’s

Gail's pots only half of it came through on the email - sorry Gail

Gail’s pots only half of it came through on the email – sorry Gail

Janet B's

Janet B’s

Margaret's

Margaret’s

Maureen's

Maureen’s

Sylvia's

Sylvia’s

*******************************

 

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in FRIENDS, QUILT SET and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WHY?

  1. Susan says:

    Hi My lovely sorry to hear you have been ill but I am gla to hear you are in the mend. I have been really busy with uni and did not manage to do our little private PC swap, 😦 sorry. x So sad to read the news about your two friends passing away my deepest sympathy. I hope this year gets better for you jan. Love and hugs Susan xxxx

  2. M says:

    Hi Jan
    Sad to hear your news about your two friends. Hope you are fully recovered now and your health continues to be good from here on.
    M xxxx

  3. maggi says:

    I’m so glad that you are finally on the mend Jan. I’m sorry though to hear about the passing of your friends – looks like they may be able to start a quilting group together.

    Suzanne obviously did a sterling job.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

