LAST MEETING OF YEAR FOR MY GROUP

This is a long post folks, I suggest you get a cup of tea before you start reading…

I was determined we would have some fun at this meeting as it was the last of the year. We did, well, I enjoyed the day I hope the ladies did. Lots of laughs and busy busy busy. Was totally shattered by end of it. We do it all again next year. Starting February… ! Following are the pictures taken throughout the day of things going on, enjoy.

Waiting to start the day, this is where I give my little chat, but today it was rather longer as I went through various ways of how you can do quilting by hand or machine, ie; in the ditch, echo quilting, tying by hand, tying by machine, basic quilting by machine, moving on through various fancy machining, then how to do QAYG, lots of little samples for the ladies to see and hopefully have a go at in the future, we shall see....

Waiting to start the day, this is where I give my little chat, but today it was rather longer as I went through various ways of how you can do quilting by hand or machine, ie; in the ditch, echo quilting, tying by hand, tying by machine, basic quilting by machine, moving on through various fancy machining, then how to do QAYG, lots of little samples for the ladies to see and hopefully have a go at in the future, we shall see….

This is Lisa, sat at her stall, not a lot of fabric left now, she is finishing selling fabrics and stuff as she has a job next year which will serve her better. We shall miss her she has been good to us. Good luck with the job Lisa.

This is Lisa, sat at her stall, not a lot of fabric left now, she is finishing selling fabrics and stuff as she has a job next year which will serve her better. We shall miss her she has been good to us. Good luck with the job Lisa.

Barbara was doing a demonstration for us of how to make Dorset Buttons, she had the ladies five at a time to learn this wonderful craft, even I had a go!!!!

Barbara was doing a demonstration for us of how to make Dorset Buttons, she had the ladies five at a time to learn this wonderful craft, even I had a go!!!!

Rosemary and Sylvia concentrating on their stitching...

Rosemary and Sylvia concentrating on their stitching…

Jan and Jackie also intent on getting it right...

Jan and Jackie also intent on getting it right…

Barbara explaining to Joyce how to get the edges right... Rosemary admiring what she has done so far, looking good Rosemary...

Barbara explaining to Joyce how to get the edges right… Rosemary admiring what she has done so far, looking good Rosemary…

Some of the finished buttons they made...

Some of the finished buttons they made…

Aren't they pretty...

Love this one...

Love this one…

This is my one, not quite finished and yes I know it is wonky...

This is my one, not quite finished and yes I know it is wonky…I have made four more since Saturday, think I am addicted….

Twins...

Twins…

Almost all the ladies, working away at something or other...

Almost all the ladies, working away at something or other…

There is no way I could run the Quilt Set without these people, Suzanne, my daughter, Rebecca my Granddaughter and now Pat my long time friend who runs the Hexagon club within the group. To show my appreciation of all they do I had made them each a little prezzie, one of those popular satchels you see people with...Thank you girls for all you do, I hope you know I appreciate it.

There is no way I could run the Quilt Set without these people, Suzanne, my daughter, Rebecca my Granddaughter and now Pat my long time friend who runs the Hexagon club within the group. To show my appreciation of all they do I had made them each a little prezzie, one of those popular satchels you see people with…Thank you girls for all you do, I hope you know I appreciate it.

Blue for Rebecca...

Blue for Rebecca…

Black and White for Pat...

Black and White for Pat…

Cats for Suzanne...

Cats for Suzanne…

Earlier in the year I did samples of various FMQ patterns I had learned for the past two years and turned them all into these littlw notebook covers, I bought a notebook to fit them and each of the ladies at the group on Saturday had one presented to her to say thank you from me for supporting me throughout the year...

Earlier in the year I did samples of various FMQ patterns I had learned for the past two years and turned them all into these little notebook covers, I bought a notebook to fit them and each of the ladies at the group on Saturday had one presented to her to say thank you from me for supporting me throughout the year…

Gifts 2

…no two the same…

Gifts 3

Lots of lovely colours…

We also had our normal raffle which cleared all the fabrics for this year so I can now buy some fresh stock for next year, I believe we did about 11 prizes on the day for the raffle which the ladies love to have, PLUS, I had been through my fabrics at home and pulled out loads of pieces which I felt would be of use and made up lots of ‘ice cream cones’ with them, all new fabrics you understand and good sized pieces,  these were given out as prizes throughout the day for answers to silly questions which I asked,  great fun had by all, the ladies gained a surprise package of fabrics and I managed to clear a big hole in my cupboard. I think they liked that idea so I may do it throughout the year in one or two meetings, helps them get a small stash and helps me clear mine….win win situation methinks.

We had our Special Raffle too for H4H. Each month I make a tote and it is raffled separately to the normal raffle and all the money raised from that goes to H4H each year. This meeting we had the bag and my friend Di donated three separate yards of gorgeous fabric to be raffled for H4H, this went down really well with the ladies I can tell you. In total, the money raise for H4H through out the year was £234, which for such a small group is pretty good. We try to beat our sum raised each year, not sure we made it this year though as some of the meetings were low attendance – it happens. Still I feel sure H4H will be pleased with our donation. I have got ahead of the game for next year as I have already made the bags for each meeting……. Moving on….

SHOWTIME

Beginning of our SHOWTIME for the day, I am so sorry but I cannot remember who made this and nor can Suzanne, if it was you....please let me know and I will credit your name on here, I am sorry....

Beginning of our SHOWTIME for the day, I am so sorry but I cannot remember who made this and nor can Suzanne, if it was you….please let me know and I will credit your name on here….

Debbie's Cat runner, just great, she is a very prolific quilter, she has moved from Northampton sadly but manages to come back to see us now and then which is great...

Debbie’s Cat runner, just great, she is a very prolific quilter, she has moved from Northampton sadly but manages to come back to see us now and then which is great…

Another cat runner from Debs...

Another cat runner from Debs…

This is the back of the next picture I think...it is Debs...

This is the back of the next picture I think…it is Debs…

Just look at those tiny flying geese, Debs I take my hat off to you girl...

Just look at those tiny flying geese, Debs I take my hat off to you girl…

Cushion made by our Dens, this is just gorgeous, I love these prints...

Cushion made by our Dens, this is just gorgeous, I love these prints…

Set of pictures Debs has made using those gorgeous fashion prints...

Set of pictures Debs has made using those gorgeous fashion prints…

This is the quilt Debs made using the ongoing blocks I taught  for this year, and guess what...I get to quilt it for her, I am so looking forward to doing it, she has given me cartblanche with thread colour and patterns. woohoo....

This is the quilt Debs made using the ongoing blocks I taught for this year, and guess what…I get to quilt it for her, I am so looking forward to doing it, she has given me cartblanche with thread colour and patterns. woohoo….

Two table runners made by Irene, I have a feeling she has made this as gifts for someone...

Two table runners made by Irene, I have a feeling she has made this as gifts for someone…

Irene's quilt, finished from last years ongoing project, I think this pattern was the most popular yet in the Quilt Set, I think everyone had a go at it...

Irene’s quilt, finished from last years ongoing project, I think this pattern was the most popular yet in the Quilt Set, I think everyone had a go at it…

Beautiful bag made by Janet B, with the left overs from......

Beautiful bag made by Janet B, with the left overs from……

...her fabulous quilt, which consists of four of the ongoing project from last year. Well done Janet for sticking with it and you made a fabulous job of quilting it too...

…her fabulous quilt, which consists of four of the ongoing project from last year. Well done Janet for sticking with it and you made a fabulous job of quilting it too…

Jean's quilt she has made for someone for Christmas, great job Jean...

Jean’s quilt she has made for someone for Christmas, great job Jean…

This is the first of many you will see next year, this is from my Machine Curves day we had last month, Margaret has made two single bed tops, they are not finished yet so no doubt we will see them again next year, but she wanted me to see she had stuck with it and got them done, good going Margaret...

This is the first of many you will see next year, this is from my Machine Curves day we had last month, Margaret has made two single bed tops, they are not finished yet so no doubt we will see them again next year, but she wanted me to see she had stuck with it and got them done, good going Margaret…

This is also from the Curves Machine day I had, this is the 'other quilt' I demonstrated in case they didn't like the curves...this is again made by Margaret, looking good...

This is also from the Curves Machine day I had, this is the ‘other quilt’ I demonstrated in case they didn’t like the curves…this is again made by Margaret, looking good…

Not made by anyone at my group, Margaret won this at another group in Northampton and brought it along for us to see, you turn it either way to see Night...

Not made by anyone at my group, Margaret won this at another group in Northampton and brought it along for us to see, you turn it either way to see Night…

...or Day...

…or Day…

Quilt made by Annette - my younger daughter - she did it on a Monday class with Barbara Chainey, who also designed the quilting pattern for Annette, lucky girl, if you go to Annette's blog you will see more about this and better pictures, well done Annette...

Quilt made by Annette – my younger daughter – she did it on a Monday class with Barbara Chainey, who also designed the quilting pattern for Annette, lucky girl, if you go to Annette’s blog you will see more about this and better pictures, well done Annette…

Another gorgeous quilt from Bridget, this is from the Curves Machine day last month, bit different for Bridget, we never know what to expect from her, she is very talented and always does something unexpected, just love what she has done with this...

Another gorgeous quilt from Bridget, this is from the Curves Machine day last month, bit different for Bridget, we never know what to expect from her, she is very talented and always does something unexpected, just love what she has done with this…

Another Curves day quilt, this time from my elder daughter Suzanne, who had a 'light-bulb' moment and came up with her own design after much giggling. She has finished it and I think it is absolutely brilliant, not that I am biased you understand... It is called Double bubbles....think I recognise quite a few batiks in there!!! hahha ha

Another Curves day quilt, this time from my elder daughter Suzanne, who had a ‘light-bulb’ moment and came up with her own design after much giggling. She has finished it and I think it is absolutely brilliant, not that I am biased you understand… It is called Double bubbles….think I recognise quite a few batiks in there!!! hahha ha

Another one by Suzanne, she bought a jelly roll at the Festival of Quilts this year and made this quilt with it, I think it is brilliant, love the design, well done Suzanne...

Another one by Suzanne, she bought a jelly roll at the Festival of Quilts this year and made this quilt with it, I think it is brilliant, love the design, well done Suzanne…

Yet another by Suzanne, my goodness she is on a roll this year. This is a fabulous batik quilt, in the second design done on the curves machine day, I loved this very much and at the end of the day, she presented it to me. WOW, I love it. Thank you.

Yet another by Suzanne, my goodness she is on a roll this year. This is a fabulous batik quilt, in the second design done on the curves machine day, I loved this very much and at the end of the day, she presented it to me. WOW, I love it. Thank you.

This is the back of the next quilt from Bridget, just love the fabric...

This is the back of the next quilt from Bridget, just love the fabric…

Bridget's quilt, the front of it. Log Cabin 9 patch as you can see, fabulous choice of colours and if you look closely you will see there are loads of black buttons sewn on two of the opposite sides, over 200 of them...whew, admire you for sewing on that lot Bridget...

Bridget’s quilt, the front of it. Log Cabin 9 patch as you can see, fabulous choice of colours and if you look closely you will see there are loads of black buttons sewn on two of the opposite sides, over 200 of them…whew, admire you for sewing on that lot Bridget…

WooHoo a Suffolk puff Christmas tree done by Alison, very prettily done...

WooHoo a Suffolk puff Christmas tree done by Alison, very prettily done…

This is a table runner done by Alison, you would not believe how long it is folks, she apparently has one of those huge tables you insert leaves to extend it, each block is 12" then there is sashing, so...it is pretty big. an amazing piece of work Alison, well done...

This is a table runner done by Alison, you would not believe how long it is folks, she apparently has one of those huge tables you insert leaves to extend it, each block is 12″ then there is sashing, so…it is pretty big. an amazing piece of work Alison, well done…

and finally for our Showtime, we end on this beautiful quilt from Wendy which is as you can see a real beauty to end with, Wendy has a good eye for colour and her stitching is to die for, beautifully quilted too, well done Wendy...

and finally for our Showtime, we end on this beautiful quilt from Wendy which is as you can see a real beauty to end with, Wendy has a good eye for colour and her stitching is to die for, beautifully quilted too, well done Wendy…

I have to mention Richard, my son-in-law, who very kindly made lots of gorgeous cakes for the ladies to enjoy at this final meeting of the year, Richard they went down well, I didn’t get a look in, all gone by the time I got my tea!! boohoo A big THANK YOU to you for them.  Thanks also going to Annette for coming along on her day off from work to help with one thing and another. You see folks my group is a very family orientated one, I shall have to think of a job for Clint before long I expect….ha ha ha, don’t tell him Annette.

So there we are, another year finished for the Quilt Set, it has been another busy but fun year for me and hopefully the ladies too, I look forward to 2014 where we can do it all again, with new ideas though…watch this space.

Thank you everyone for another great year.

************************************************

This is my 100th Post with WordPress I am going to sort out a give away to celebrate that fact, so do make sure you come back

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in QUILT SET and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to LAST MEETING OF YEAR FOR MY GROUP

  1. Tina Gilley says:

    The Buttons Are Wonderful. I Have Made A Couple But Not As pretty Mine Were White. Love The Quilting On Your Notebook Covers. And The Gals In Your Group Do Beautiful Quilts.

  2. Caz says:

    I do wish I lived closer to you Jan,,, what fab work you and your group have done. Well done to you all. And I had a cuppa whilst reading!

  3. Janice Aitkens says:

    What lovely projects be you all had a great day
    Hugs Janice

  4. Irene says:

    Amazing works of art done by your group Jan. I just love your FMQ book covers. Your work so hard with your group. Love Irene B

  5. Maggi says:

    What a wonderful group. Pity I’m not closer. All your hard work and generosity has obviously paid off. Well done to you all.

  6. I want to learn how to make those buttons, then teach my guild. Where do I start?? :^)

  7. debbie says:

    Hi Jan, found you at last! I loved Novembers quilt set as I do all your groups. Hopefully, weather permiting we can meet up soon as I would love to purchase some of your books.Hope you and your loved ones have a great Christmas and I wish you all good health and lots of happiness loads of love Debbie xxx

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

