FRIEND’s WORK – PLUS

Here are some pictures of things my friends have been up to, the first picture is of Debbie’s blocks, made with my group this year, she is going to assemble them and then…..woohoo I get to quilt it for her. I am looking forward to doing that…

Debbie's quilt blocks

Debbie’s quilt blocks

Gail is another member of my group and these quilts she made sometime ago now but they are worth showing as they are both beautiful. The first one was one I taught as a Sampler many years ago, I have mine somewhere on the chair in the bedroom [oops] I love what Gail has done, very bright and cheerful…

Gail's Sampler Quilt

Gail’s Sampler Quilt

This is also Gail’s, it was a Class I took called — A quilt in a day, and yes they all got the top done on the day, the quilting came later. Gail has finished hers and I think it is brilliant. Thanks for sharing Gail.

Gail's Trip around the World Quilt

Gail’s Trip around the World Quilt

*********************************************

I have a stack of Hardback books which due to my hand problems I can no longer hold for any length of time, I am hoping to sell these, anyone got any ideas how much I should ask, I really want them to go but I cannot just GIVE them away I am afraid….. So sad to see them go but needs must and I don’t think my girl’s want any, I keep passing my stuff to them – ha ha ha – I would be grateful for any suggestions…

FOR SALE  - BOOKS

FOR SALE – BOOKS

FOR SALE  - BOOKS

FOR SALE – BOOKS

FOR SALE  - BOOKS

FOR SALE – BOOKS

FOR SALE  - BOOKS

FOR SALE – BOOKS

***********************************************

Here comes the plus part…….Following are loads of close-ups of the challenges 5 and 6 I did recently, see the previous post on here. I was only allowed to use one photograph, but as they are so pretty – [- bighead  = me] – I thought it worth you seeing some close-ups of them…

Close ups of my BORDER challenge piece

Close ups of my BORDER challenge piece, where you can probably see those hexagons are not all equal, they were an absolute devil to do…

challenge - borders 009 challenge - borders 010 challenge - borders 011challenge - borders 013 challenge - borders 014

above are of the back view below is the front view…

close up of front...

close up of front…

these are of the small ‘Permission to play’  item…

close ups of the forgotten challenge!!

close-ups of the forgotten challenge!!

challenge - borders 023 challenge - borders 024

close ups of the wrong side

close-ups of the wrong side – I have to say when I had finished this piece, I was uncertain which side to use as the front, but opted to stay with my chosen fabric – the other side

challenge - borders 034

********************************

This weekend as I have not felt all that great [legs being a PITA] I decided I would make some Postcards. Hubby thinks I have lost the plot as I have so many Postcards already I guess I don’t need any more until something happens to them..but hey, I just love making the fabric postcards and I don’t know why but I seem to totally relax when making them as I let myself just ‘play’ with the design, I never know what is going to appear on the card until it gets under my machine. Love the freedom of them.  I will try on a Postcard ideas I would never attempt on a Quilt straight away. I would suggest to you if you wish to practice quilting designs or applique, make a fabric Postcard, your idea will work out eventually and you will have a memorable piece of work of what you did, which you can either keep in a folder or send to someone. How great is that? Pictures of those tomorrow maybe. I am thinking about trying to sell some of my Fabric Postcards, what do you think, good idea or not?

**************************************

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in FMQ CHALLENGE, FRIENDS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to FRIEND’s WORK – PLUS

  1. Janet, your quilting is fantastic – really enjoyed looking at your work. Amazing feathers!!! I have some of those books!! Some really good ones in there..

    • Hi Rhianon, Lovely to see you here, I do hope my other visitors will pop over to your Blog and see your fantastic work. Thank you so much for the kind words, I really appreciate them. I will be sorry to sell the books but I am unable to hold hardback ones any more, it did cross my mind to get them done as those ring binder ones, but not sure. Some of them my girls bought for me..I will have to think hard on what to do.

  2. Caz says:

    Jan,,, your students quilts are great,,, but your quilting is amazing!! And why not sell some postcards,, I think you should. What about doing a craft fair or similar?

    • Hi Caz, I am very lucky to have such responsive ladies, ha ha ha but then you know me so they have to be don’t they? I am not known as bossy boots for nothing. Good to see you. Are you well?

  3. Maggi says:

    Good to see what you have inspired others to do. I think you should sell your postcards – what about Etsy?

    Good luck with the books. Some of those are very familiar and sure to be wanted by someone.

  4. Raewyn says:

    Great to see more detail of your fmqing work. Love all those borders you have done, and your permission to play piece is gorgeous too. It is nice to have something to go to when you are out of sorts!! Thank you for your recent visit to my blog, you’ve come up as no-reply so I cant respond to you – I was going to ‘chat’ about a post card for my nephew 🙂

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

