I HAD A VISITOR

Cathy from New Zealand came to visit on Friday. I have had a really busy weekend so have only just managed to get on here and show these piks. She will kill me when she sees me next – ha ha ha. Cathy it HAS to be done.

What a lovely lady she is, so down-to-earth, made herself at home straight away, got on well with hubby too, we laughed so much during the day the three of us it was as though we had known her forever. Thank you for cheering us up Cathy you were a real tonic.

I of course HAD to get her to do some sewing, now I didn’t know,  she has never ever done any FMQ, I thought she had and showed her a couple of patterns and she amazed herself by just doing them. Cathy has promised when she gets home to her own sewing machine, she will practice these and when she is happy she will send me a postcard. I don’t think I will have long to wait, she is a natural. Just look at what she did…

Cathy - in shock - at my sewing machine...

Cathy – in shock – at my sewing machine…

Remember, she had never done any FMQ before, I am either a brilliant teacher or Cathy was pulling my leg...

Remember, she had never done any FMQ before, I am either a brilliant teacher or Cathy was pulling my leg…

Just brilliant...

Just brilliant…

Postcards I had prepped up which I let Cathy practice on, she has taken these home as a reminder of what she did and CAN DO now...

Postcards I had prepped up which I let Cathy practice on, she has taken these home as a reminder of what she did and CAN DO now…

I think she was a bit shocked at just how many quilts I had around the place… she fell in love with one so I have let her have it as a gift, I do hope she will use it.

My baby Dinosaur Quilt...has gone to a good home. Enjoy Cathy, please USE it.

My baby Dinosaur Quilt…has gone to a good home. Enjoy Cathy, please USE it.

There was a lilac UFO sitting on my table which I had decided I was just never going to finish and was wondering what to do with it….  ho ho Cathy looked at it and loved it so I palmed it off  so I gave that to her as a gift too. How smart was that!! 🙂  wahey one down few more to go.

Have a safe journey home on Thursday Cathy, thank you so much for visiting, sorry you had to leave so early, maybe next time you come, you will be able to stay longer and we can sew up a storm.

*****************************************

While I am talking about Friends, I want to show you a Quilt made, not by me, but by a friend from the PP site I used to be on.  [Cathy too was from the PP forum.]  Carol B is yet another lovely lady met through quilting. Although I a no longer on the PP site, she keeps in touch with me which is lovely. Anyway she sent me pictures of a quilt she had made for her Son and DiL, I think I have that the right way round, apologies Carol if not….. She asked me my honest opinion of this quilt as regards the quilting she had done on it. Now, this quilt if HUGE folks and like me Carol only has a domestic machine, well of course it is brilliant and I told her that, I feel sure you will agree with me too….just look at this….

Ian and Kelly's Quilt by Carol B - now isn't that fabulous....

Ian and Kelly’s Quilt by Carol B – now isn’t that fabulous….

Still with friends from the old PP site, another one who keeps in touch with me is Fiona. Now she has a very talented daughter, well she has more than one talented daughter but I have to show you what Isabella made AND won a prize for too..

Isabella_1st_quilt- front - I just love the spontaneity of this...

Isabella_1st_quilt- front – I just love the spontaneity of this…

Isabella_1st_quilt_-_reverse

Isabella_1st_quilt_-_reverse

Isabella quilt award - The Phoenix

Isabella quilt award – The Phoenix

Isabella receiving award - she is the one on the right, see what I mean by clever girl.... Well done Isabella

Isabella receiving award – she is the one on the right, see what I mean by clever girl…. Well done Isabella

Fiona's Cali-she is a sea cadet -- talented family she has.

Fiona’s Cali—-she is a sea cadet, you only need look at Isabella to spot Cali…

Grandmother's_Fan_quilt by Fiona -- thought I best show something Fiona had done hahaha well done Fiona, it is great...

Grandmother’s Fan quilt by Fiona — thought I best show something Fiona had done hahaha well done Fiona, it is great, so pleased you put it ‘on point‘ too…

fan-_reverse - Fiona's

Back of Fan Quilt of Fiona’s – I apologise for the picture, I cannot get it to load the whole thing for some reason…very strange….

As you can see I have some very talented Friends, and I thank them all for allowing me to put their pictures on my Blog. I am sure you agree with me they are all, especially Isabella, very talented. Thank you girls. for sharing with me.

**************************************

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in FRIENDS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I HAD A VISITOR

  1. Maggi says:

    What a lovely time you obviously had and Cathy did really well, both in her FMQ and in going home with some of your work.

    • She is smashing, when she comes again in two years time we are hoping to have longer together. Hit it off straight away. She was sorry she missed Annette though, next time I told her.

      • Cathy Turner says:

        OMG, I’m so embarrassed, it’s taken 12 months to see this! I loved meeting you and Pete, and had a fantastic day. I never felt like a stranger, from the moment I walked in the door. I am only just getting around to finishing the lilac quilt top, I keep showing it to every one, and have just found the fabric I want to finish it with, hope you like it when I send photos. The dinosaur quilt is being used by me, for cuddling under this winter!

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

