TIME OFF

I got so low I decided I would take some time off from things. Mainly the computer. I actually felt a bit mean in doing so as I kind of left all my Facebook stuff to the lovely Tina G, who helps me so much with all the swaps I do on there. She was absolutely fabulous though, took it all in her stride and came up with great ideas too. Many thanks Tina you are a STAR.

Now that I feel a bit better I can come on here and show you all the things I have been making whilst I took that time off. I kind of sewed up a storm, which helped enormously as I caught up with a lot of things I was getting behind with, although I am still way way behind with my Doodle group stuff – Christine I promise to catch up before the end of the year. Now that is in print I have to do it don’t I!

Ready?

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards

Postcards – hubby thought this was a butterfly!!!! Had to blacken the eye holes for him to realise what it was!!! Derrr!!!

Postcards

Postcards

Customer Quilt - finished, she wishes to do the binding herself...

Customer Quilt, Jackie’s  – finished, she wishes to do the binding herself…

...back view

…back view – it does lay flat, it was a bit windy…

...close up...

…close up…

...corner close up ...

…corner close up …

back close up again...

back close up again…

Thank you Jackie for allowing me to quilt this for you I loved doing it…

Customer Quilt - Jackie's second one...

Customer Quilt – Jackie’s second one…

Back view...

Back view…

...close up of the centre squares...

…close up of the centre squares…

..back of a centre square...

..back of a centre square…

...back view of border...

…back view of border…

front view of border...

front view of border…

Once again, many thanks to Jackie for trusting me with her quilts. I have to tell you a secret, Jackie had brought along three ‘tops’ but she wished one of the tops she had made to be a backing for the hexagonal quilt. As soon as I saw the top she had planned for that use, I just knew it was going to be a full ‘on its own quilt’, loved it. Now that it is  quilted I love it even more. I had my fingers crossed Jackie would approve of what I had done, after all she had only expected two quilts but got three back!!!

She did. Whew! She liked it as much as me after she got over the initial shock.

What do you think?

Customer Quilt - Jackie's third quilt which she had down as being used for a backing for one of the above...

Customer Quilt – Jackie’s third quilt which she had down as being used for a backing for one of the above…

Close up showing a dragon fly and my beloved Ginkgo leaves...

Close up showing a dragon fly and my beloved Ginkgo leaves…

Another dragonfly...

Another dragonfly…

Ginkgo leaves and dragonfly...

Ginkgo leaves and dragonfly…

I absolutely loved quilting this one, thank you,  thank you Jackie for letting me do it and trusting me with three of your quilts.

I received a really sweet card from Jackie a few days after I gave these to her saying she cannot wait to finish another quilt. Think I have a satisfied customer, makes it all worthwhile.

Libby Lehman Challenge on SewCalGal site for 2013 -

Libby Lehman Challenge on SewCalGal site for 2013 

Think this pik shows the quilting a tad better, oh look there is Jackie's quilt underneath it....

Think this pik shows the quilting a tad better, oh look there is Jackie’s quilt underneath it….

 

...close up of corner...

…close up of corner…

...close up of centre'''

…close up of centre…

Back view - don't look too close you will see the errors, I admit I messed the back up, was too tired to undo it all so left it...

Back view – don’t look too close you will see the errors, I admit I messed the back up, was too tired to undo it all so left it…

...close up of centre back view...

…close up of centre back view…

I absolutely loved doing this challenge, even though it seemed to take me forever, I have to admit to doing other stuff on and off whilst doing this one. The news of Libby knocked me sideways for a while but then I got my act together and finished it, in honour of  Libby. Thank you once again to SewCalGal for the wonderful challenges this year.  Just one to do now.

Which brings me to these…

hmm not sure about that lime green in the mix????

hmm not sure about that lime green in the mix????

ho-hum, I think this is what I am going for...

ho-hum, I think this is what I am going for…

All above done on my beloved 'old' Bernina, the new machine is in it's box under the table...

All above done on my beloved ‘old’ Bernina, the new machine is in its box under the table…

I did do a few other things but cannot show them on here right now as they are for someone later in the year, sorry about that. What a tease!!! Probably enough here for you to digest right now anyway. Thanks for visiting, look forward to any comments.

***********************

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in FMQ CHALLENGE, POSTCARDS, QUILTING FOR OTHERS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TIME OFF

  1. sandybx says:

    Lovely to see you back Jan. Beautiful work as usual.

  2. Kerstin says:

    Once again wonderfull work . I love what you did with the intendet banking. It turned into a beauty

  3. Janice Aitkens says:

    You do such beautiful work how can anyone not be anything but pleased with them
    Glad you are feeling better i know what it like, you take care
    Hugs Janice

  4. Maggi says:

    I’m so glad that you are feeling better Jan. Your work is beautiful, as always. The Libby piece is stunning. Thank goodness you took the decision to make a quilt from the backing – much too nice to be hidden. No wonder Jackie was delighted with them all.

    I think you should try to add a bit of that lime green, it would add some real zing.

  5. Pingback: FMQ CHALLENGE 2013 – FINALLY COMPLETE | jansmusingagain

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

