A CHALLENGE WAS ISSUED

On Angela Walters Blog she issued a challenge to the world, it was to make something from one of her own designer panels. Well who could resist. Not I, so I purchased one of the panels and a co-ordinate which you may have seen on here already, but I will refresh your memory. These are the two fabrics I bought.

The lime green is the plain co-ordinate to go with the panel

The lime green is the plain co-ordinate to go with the panel

We could make anything we wanted to, I resisted temptation to see what others were making as sometimes you get ‘influenced’ by what you see. Being a Quilter, I just had to make a quilt didn’t I? Here it is then my finished quilt made from the above fabrics, which I chopped up, sewed, chopped up and sewed again. I had such fun with this, the bits left over from all that chopping have become the binding. Which I am pleased to say.. just managed to go round…phew! I have entered this into the competition – well I hope I have – I didn’t quite understand the form you had to fill in, took me forever to find it..ha ha still learning on the computer folks.

I have called this Quilt “Round the Square” I do hope you can see why. I loved making it, I love the fabrics they feel like silk. When the entries are posted on PINTEREST, I will put a link to it and I ask you to please go and vote for the item you like the best, not necessarily mine. OK enough chat…pictures….

Angela Walters Challenge 007

Full front view of finished Quilt, it is lap size just right for me.

Angela Walters Challenge 008

Close up of side of Quilt, circles of fabric cut out from the printed panel and just quilted down within the design, they get progressively smaller as they go to the top…

Angela Walters Challenge 009

Close up showing the quilting to the side of the arrow of circles…

Angela Walters Challenge 010

Title of Quilt, I changed the thread colour here to lime green as I wanted it to kind of ‘jump’ off the page at you…

Angela Walters Challenge 011

Close up of other side of quilt showing the rows and rows of straight ? line quilting, I did them using the width of my foot on my machine.

Angela Walters Challenge 012

This shows the quilting a little lower than the picture above, I did a bit of fancy quilting round one of the circles – for fun…

Angela Walters Challenge 013

…lower still, right to the bottom this time, more circles echoing my theme – round the square…

Angela Walters Challenge 014

Close up of a couple of the blocks in the line running down the quilt, basically just showing the quilting I did on it..can you tell I love quilting???

Angela Walters Challenge 015

The back of the Quilt, warts and all, I had a few mishaps with this, the backing had slipped as I was quilting and I didn’t notice until it was too late – there was NO WAY I was going to undo all those stitches, so what you see is what I did….As this is for me I left it had it been for someone else, I would I promise have sat and unpicked every stitch – and cried at every one of them!!!

Angela Walters Challenge 016

The yellow thread I used really shines on the back, I tried a green one on the front but the yellow suited it better until I got to the title circle, this is showing more of the quilting I have learned since doing the last years classes with SewCalGal FMQ group…

Angela Walters Challenge 017

Big green circle again…

Angela Walters Challenge 018

Back view of the ‘arrow’

Angela Walters Challenge 019

Back view of the rows and rows of quilted lines…

So there we are, one more finished quilt, and done in record time as it had to be done for entry to the competition challenge by 6 JUNE…..Just about made it folks. I now love lime green.

My machine

I am posting a picture here of my beloved machine on which I made this Quilt, lots of people think I have a long-arm machine – I wish!!!! No, this is my machine, and I love it.

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in ANGELA WALTERS, Quilt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A CHALLENGE WAS ISSUED

  1. Wow. What a great job. You variety of quilting is wonderful and so Angela.

  2. Janice Aitkens says:

    what beautiful quilting you really surpassed yourself with this one well done
    Hugs Janice

  3. buntyw says:

    Wow Jan your quilting is stunning!

  4. Kerstin says:

    I love the quilting. stunning. wonder what you would do on a long arm. lol

  5. Susan S says:

    Wow–_it is gorgeous.

  6. Caz says:

    Brilliant,,, what more can be said!!

  7. Marian says:

    Stunning quilt, I love the lime green too. Amazing quilting as always. Want to go and vote but I can’t find out how to do this…….M x

  8. WOW Jan!!! I hadn’t seen this yet. Beautiful!!!! Your quilting is gorgeous!! Well Done! :^)

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

