I AM A FAN

I am a bit late in catching onto Angela Walters.  I picked up on her quilting when my friend Di bought Tula Pink’s book, I was gobsmacked by the fabulous quilting in that book and had to learn more of this talented quilter. It turned out to be Angela Walters and not Tula who had done the quilting…..Well, it didn’t take long for me to find a class of hers on CRAFTSY via SewCalGal. I joined straight away and you will have seen the quilt I made from that class a few posts back.

Since then I have been avidly following Angela’s Blog — http://www.quiltingismytherapy.com

She recently has had a competition going using one of her new range of fabrics. Yep not only does she quilt superbly, she designs fabric lines. I love a challenge so had to have one of the panels, I was unable to purchase it in this country and Angela kindly offered to send me one of hers. So here it is, the panel and a co-ordinate plain which is all you can use in the competition. You are allowed to make whatever you wish, I am making…aha you will have to wait and see.

Angela Walters challenge Panel

The challenge panel I am using, designed by Angela Walters. Annette thinks it looks like the space invaders game…

The lime green is the plain co-ordinate to go with the panel

The lime green is the plain co-ordinate to go with the panel

When these arrived, which was not long back, I was happily surprised as I wasn’t sure what to expect if truth be told. This is a real challenge for me, taking me once again way out of my comfort zone, which is a good thing as I felt I was getting a bit stale in my quilting ideas. Anyway I washed the fabrics – just in case – then I sat and stared at the fabrics for a couple of days…..hmm time passed and ‘ping’ an idea dropped in the vacant space in my brain and I started to chop up the patterned panel. I did quite a bit of chopping then resewing – chopping resewing – chopping —– you get the idea??? Well so you can kind of get the idea, here are a few tease pictures for you of what I have done so far….enjoy.

Angela Walters Challenge 003

You will see I love quilting – lots of it

Angela Walters Challenge 004

You can just make out the co-ordinate lime green fabric at the base of this picture

Angela Walters Challenge 005

Squiggles and wiggles

Angela Walters Challenge 006

Loopy loops and lines, but can you spot what is missing? What I usually do???? Give me time….hee hee I feel sure some will get on there somewhere.

The competition entries have to be in by 6th JUNE !!!!! Yeah yeah I know, I am cutting it a bit fine, but that is me, working under pressure and getting the job done…hopefully.  The next picture you see will be of the finished item. Can you guess what it is yet?

Oh and by the way I have signed up for yet another class of Angela’s on CRAFTSY. I just couldn’t resist when SewCalGal told me of it, felt it would be rude not to really 🙂

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in ANGELA WALTERS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I AM A FAN

  1. Maggi says:

    Some gorgeous quilting patterns there Jan and I love the colours in the fabric. Do you have feather withdrawal yet??

  2. Caz says:

    Lovely, Jan. Could it be a quilt,, or a bag you are making???

  3. Marian Turner says:

    I think you may be right Maggi, it’s missing a feather……or is it? I can’t see the whole quilt. The colours and fabrics are gorgeous and the quilting as always is fantastic…..if only……M x

  4. Susan S says:

    Gorgeous Quilting. Good luck with the competition

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

