BYE JEFF

Today was one of those days you really do not want to happen. I was going to the funeral of my friend Di’s husband Jeff, who died so suddenly just a fortnight ago. I have to say I really hate funerals, I hate the finality of them, I know it is coming but still I cannot get to grips with Life and Death. I am not a religious person and I believe Jeff wasn’t either, but, there has to be more to our lives than the short time we are put here, and Jeff’s was way too short. Snatched away from us unfairly.

There was a wonderful turn-out –if that is the right expression– for Jeff and also for Di. It was a good feeling seeing so many people from his past there to pay their respects. His sons had done a fabulous job of finding people from way back and I could see Di was going to be kept busy chatting to everyone.

Jeff, you would have been so proud of your family, Gareth, Andrew and Samantha stood and read a wonderful poem which suited you perfectly, Gareth also gave us some lovely insights to your army life and made us all laugh several times, which is very healthy. Well done Gareth it was so hard for you, all three of you.  Your Grand children, Dan, Libby, Freya and Finn were amazing Jeff, again you would have been so proud of those little ones. I wasn’t even sure they were there – but they were – they were so quiet bless them.

I am going to miss you Jeff, every time I ring and chat to Di, I am going to be listening out for all your little interruptions you used to make, which we both used to get annoyed at, yes we still have Pete my end to do the interruptions, but with you both doing them it was like a little echo going on, Di and I used to guess sometimes which of you would say what and when, we usually got it right too. I am going to be here for your Di, I hope you know that Jeff, I will help where and when I can, she is a great friend, I have been privileged to have you both in my life. As I said, you went too soon Jeff, when they sing – “We’ll keep a welcome in the hillsides,” they didn’t mean for you to go now.

Bye Jeff, see you.

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in LIFE and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BYE JEFF

  1. Joan says:

    Beautiful post Jan…That must have been hard for you. Sympathy to you and your friends and family.

  2. What a lovely post hope all went well & yes i know you will be there for Di
    Hugs Janice

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

