TESSA’s QUILT

My friend Tessa asked me to quilt a quilt for her, so of course I said yes and when it arrived I thought it was just fabulous, HUGE but fabulous. A Sampler, set on point with wonderful large borders for some quilting. woohoo. Tessa had told me I could do what I wanted quilting-wise on it – even better. I decided there would be no ‘V’ on this quilt, you know me and ‘V’ hee hee. Well, after a while when chatting to Tessa I discovered she actually liked ‘V’ so had to do a quick change of ideas for one of the borders. ‘V’ it would be but with some hearts amongst it as this was after all a Wedding Quilt. I can’t actually remember the size something like 120″ x 100″ I think!!

After pinning the quilt up which took a while!! I chose the threads to use on it, I wanted them to disappear on the top of the Quilt as the blocks were just so beautiful, the back of the quilt would be where the quilting would show. I think I have managed it. I loved doing this quilt even though it was a biggy it was easy to do. I hope you think I have got the patterns right for it. I know Tessa likes what I have done which is definitely a ‘whew’ moment. Thank you Tessa for allowing me to do your quilt and for the permission to put it on here. I have taken a LOT of photos of it so I hope you won’t get too bored, just skim passed to the ones you like.

The front of the Quilt…

and now the back of the Quilt…

You can just see the ‘V’ with hearts quilting on this border….

I had to fold the quilt in half and take two pictures as it didn’t show very well as the full thing like the front…

Final border treatment, it had to be hearts as it is a Wedding Quilt…

I just liked this photo.

 

Well there it is, Tessa’s Quilt, hopefully  the recipients will love it as much as I do.

***************************************

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in QUILTING FOR OTHERS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to TESSA’s QUILT

  1. Kim Jones says:

    It’s as beautiful on the back as on the front! You really should consider doing a whole cloth quilt! XOX

  2. Caz says:

    Absolutely fabulous quilting on this quilt Jan. Love the feathers,, and the big hearts on the border. Tessa did a good job of making the quilt.

  3. Dusie says:

    Jan, that is fabulous.

  4. What a beautiful quilt & the quilting you done a fantastic job but i wouldn’t expect anything less from you as you are a beautiful quilter well done
    Hugs Janice

  5. Maggi says:

    Jan that is so beautiful. You have done Tessa proud.

  6. Many thanks to you all girls, I have answered you all privately. I just couldn’t go wrong on this quilt it was so gorgeous to start with.

  7. Helen. says:

    Another really stunning quilt, well done to both of you. The back is really interesting, as the front, could be reversible with intent. love Helen.

  8. Sylvia Morgan says:

    Better late than never. Only just found this part of your Blog Jan. What a fab. quilt and quilting. No wonder Tessa is so pleased with it, both for her own work and your stunning quilting.

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

