FOR ME – JUST BECAUSE

My mum died in 2000. I am not going all morbid here, I just have to explain what this quilt is about. When she died I kind of shut myself in my room and started pulling fabrics out which I knew mum would have liked, I wanted to make a small quilt with her in mind. Mum had two from me in her life time, one when she reached 80 years old, I must search out those photo’s, and one when she moved into a Residential Home, that one had to be made cos the other one was too big…it went to my sister-in-law Jean {who has now died and so I have no idea where that quilt is anymore} I digress….. After pulling out lots of fabrics, lilacs, mauves, purples, deep reds and pinks, I just started making simple little four patches, then appliqued some hearts on top of them. When I had made as many as I felt I wanted to. I put the quilt away as I had no idea how to quilt it – then…..Time passes………

13 years later I decided to pull the quilt out and have a look at it. I had forgotten how rich the fabrics were on this little quilt. Mmmm I thought, now I can quilt better on my machine, I will give this a go, so here you are, the result, sorry if you got bored reading all that, mum would have laughed and said, ‘Oh Janet’    [always Janet never ever Jan[..

close up of individual blocks…

back of same blocks…

I like the stitch I used for the border, must try to remember it….

back of full quilt, bit of a wonky photo sorry….

…and the front –

I am really glad I waited to quilt it.

*******************

About jansmusingagain

Hmm what do you say about yourself? I am a Quilter. I just love to Quilt for myself and others. I love fabrics and threads, simple things, but they make me very happy.
This entry was posted in LIFE and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FOR ME – JUST BECAUSE

  1. Diane-crewe says:

    sometimes you just have to wait for the “right” time to do these things xx Glad your time came around xx

  2. maggi21 says:

    So glad you found the right time to quilt it Jan. It is a beautiful quilt.

  3. What a lovely quilt & the quilting is so nice
    It will be 4 years next week since my mum passed away she did have a very simple small quilt from me one of my first & i shudder at that one lol
    Hugs Janice

  4. Audrey Penny says:

    I love this quilt Jan, you can really see all the hidden love in it. I can imagine you looking at it with affectionate memories of your mum.
    Aude. x

Thank you for visiting my Blog, I hope you found it interesting and that you will come again in the future. Please feel free to leave a comment I will reply to all. Many thanks. jansmusingagain

